Tipping in the United States can be confusing, to say the very least. From dining out to tipping your valet, tipping can be a socially awkward scenario in which you might feel like you are either not tipping enough, or perhaps doing it wrong.

As there aren't clearly defined rules on tipping, I wanted to do my own research as it's a subject that here in America, we receive no formal education on. If you have been confused or embarrassed about knowing how, when, or how much to tip here in America, you certainly are not alone. This video is for you.

In this video, I share my research findings regarding the history of tipping in America, the complexities of the tipped minimum wage, my two cents on the future of tipping (amplified by the pandemic and the expansion of the creative economy), and most importantly, how/when/what to tip in different scenarios where tipping might be expected.

RESOURCES:

The Dark Truth About Tipping in America: www.youtube.com/watch?v=j1zMA_vlHVw

5 Reforms Necessary To Create A Truly Cashless Society: techcrunch.com/2021/01/08/cashless-payments-are-the-future-but-they-shouldnt-work-like-the-past/

How Much to Tip: www.aarp.org/money/budgeting-saving/info-11-2012/tipping-guidelines-and-etiquette.html

How Will Tipping Work in a Cashless Hotel: www.hotelmogel.com/how-will-tipping-work-in-a-cashless-hotel/

How Is Digital Tipping Affecting Service Workers: www.marketplace.org/2021/06/18/how-is-digital-tipping-affecting-service-workers/

10 HANDY RULES FOR TIPPING By Jonathan Gold (LA Weekly) www.laweekly.com/10-handy-rules-for-tipping/

Restaurant Tipping: 15 or 20 Percent? By Kevin Jone (Mother Jones) www.motherjones.com/kevin-drum/2011/08/restaurant-tipping-15-or-20/

Why Tipping Is An American Custom: www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gyjr7Fvpl74

Casually Explained: Tipping --- www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kal1yAZExwQ

Why Tipping Should Be Banned (College Humor) www.youtube.com/watch?v=q_vivC7c_1k

Young Money: Essential Guide To Tipping Etiquette | CNBC: youtu.be/logcAqw0oBU

To Tip or Not To Tip: www.tidy.com/blog/to-tip-or-not-to-tip-the-guide-to-tipping-your-house-cleaner

How much To Tip Your Dog Groomer: www.playbarkrun.com/how-much-tip-dog-groomer/

A Complete Guide to Tipping Movers: When, How Much, and More: www.youmoveme.com/articles/how-much-should-you-tip-movers

Hotel Tipping Guide: How Much and Who You Should Be Tipping at American Hotels: www.usatoday.com/story/travel/hotels/2019/11/14/hotel-tipping-guide-how-much-tip-hotels-useful-info/4179486002/

Enthusiasm is Building for Digital Tipping: www.hospitalitynet.org/opinion/4102799.html

3 Ways to Prepare Yourself For a Cashless Society (by 2023!): youtu.be/y7Z-BRsOfdo

How to Tip in All Situations: www.ramseysolutions.com/budgeting/how-to-tip-no-guessing-gratuity

Should You Tip at Coffee Shops? coffeejosh.com/should-you-tip-at-coffee-shops/