Almost 30 different communities inhabit the state of Manipur. The indigenous population can be broadly divided into three major groups: 1. Meitei 2. Chin-Kuki-Mizo tribes 3. Naga tribes. While the languages spoken here are quite different from one another, they all belong to the Tibeto-Burman branch of the Sino-Tibetan language family. This means they probably share the same origin with the many languages spoken throughout Northeast India, Burma and the Tibetan Plateau.