Buy Nowhere To Go But Up Podcast? a coffee

x
1
3
5

This podcast was inspired by my own journey, and evolution through life, and wanting to share my story as well as stories from regular every day people.

I'm a single dad, Union blue collar guy, former drug addict, spent time in Federal and State prison for drug trafficking and fraud. I was released in 2006 with nothing but the clothes on my back, and a bag of mail, and legal paperwork.

In 2010 I finally kicked a long time methamphetamine habit, and started the long climb back up the ladder of life. I'm happy to say that I have managed to navigate myself into a position where I feel confident in sharing my struggles and successes, in the hopes of helping others.

In May of 2019 I published my first episode and in February of 2021 I published my 100th episode with 40+ waiting to be released. Since starting this journey the show has evolved into a topical variety show with guests from a wide range of backgrounds.

I am dedicated to bringing guests on that can speak about interesting topics mixed in with comeback stories. I will always be a voice for those that have been wrongfully convicted and drug offenders that have been over sentenced for nonviolent behavior.

As a result of this podcast and being able to talk to over 150 guests over the past 20 months I have realized that my path doesn't align with my purpose. While being on temporary disability since March of 2020 and being able to spend more time with my 3 1/2 year old daughter that I co-parent. I realized that my current occupation wasn't bringing me anything other than a good wage and health insurance.

It's a scary thing to think about stepping away from a secure union job to be better aligned with my purpose and calling. I have been working hard and diligently to try and find a way to pivot out of construction and into podcasting and helping others find their voice again.

In July of 2020 I decided to start a nonprofit organization to help mentor males returning to the community from incarceration. After receiving my 501c3 status I started doing market research in my county to see what the need for males in that population is. After talking to probation supervisors, probation managers, and other community based programs I have narrowed my demographic down to transitional age youth ages 18-24.

My goal is to provide a structured housing facility that would offer programming, mentorship, job assistance, life skills training, transportation, responsibility, accountability, content creation training, peer run podcast/ livestream show for the program, and a coaching/mentor program based on the folks that are already in my network of guests, which many have already agreed to help out.